How it started…

21 Sep

I’ve been working on products for the craft fair that  I’ll be a vendor at on November 19th. I want to share some of my projects with you. I hope you’ll be inspired by them and might even try some of them out…in your own beautiful and magical way, of course.

My journey into this “selling-what-I-create” thing began with “The Perfect Travel Journal”™. I had always looked for a journal with pages that had lines on one side and blank on the other. I wanted choices about whether to write or add memorabilia, ephemera, pics and stuff. Then I always wanted a place to tuck little bits of stuff: tickets, itineraries, receipts, etc.

So after years of looking for this, I thought, “I can make these.”

So, I create pages that are lined on one side, blank on the other and add envelopes every so often. Then added touches of myself that include:

  • a bit of the “green.” Whenever possible, I use recycled chipboard, papers, postage stamps, etc.
  • are one-of-a-kind. I add stamped images, distress them with ink, add color,  themes, etc. Whatever I can think of that will make it lovely and practical.

So here is one of my creations that I sold off my Etsy shop, Frolicacious:

1109 1

I love using the Zutter to bind my books. It gives me freedom to make them the size and shape I want.

Important Stuff: Wizard, S7-002 Wisteria Borderabilities Grand and S3-146 Butterflies 2 (Spellbinders Paper Arts), Metallic Rub-ons (Craf-T), Bind-It-All Binding System (Zutter), Glue Dots (Glue Dots International)
Other Stuff: Velvet ribbon, letter and word stickers, patterned papers

Here are a couple more images to get the full idea of what they look like:

1109 2 1109 3 1109 41109 5

I have created about 20 of these to date and find something new to put in every one. Plus, I actually took one on my travels to Europe this summer and, you know what, it worked perfectly!
Eli

One Response to “How it started…”

  1. Janine September 21, 2009 at 7:41 am #

    Love the journal! Good luck at the craft fair.
    Glad to have you back with us.

Leave a Reply

