Chocolate Body Butter!

18 Dec

While generating ideas for my craft show booth that I had last November, I checked a few books to get myself to think outside the box. I got some floral arranging, bridal and kids crafts. One of the books, had some spa gifts in the back. I thought the Cocoa Butter Bonbons would make perfect teacher gifts for Christmas.

I made a list for my supplies and went to Whole Foods. I found some stuff but not everything. Never one to be afraid of a recipe, I made some improvisations and purchased the following items: Cocoa Butter, Almond Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Beeswax.

At home I had mini muffin pans, measuring spoons, mini muffin papers and of course the paper supplies needed to decorate my little treasures.

After heating the mixture at a very low temperature (it smelled like chocolate), I poured about 2 tablespoons into each muffin cup and placed the pan in the freezer to “chill out!”

Then I realized the little bonbons needed a place to stay. Off I went to the Container Store in search of something to hold them. I found some 1 ounce plastic containers with hinged lids.

After coming home, I took the pan out, turned it upside down on the counter and the bonbons fell out. They were so cute! I put each of the bonbons in a cupcake paper and then went to the craft room to decorate the plastic containers.

JustRite Stampers made the perfect titles for the tops: I used the 1/5-8″ Wood Stamper with Times New Roman letter stamps.

I stamped several images onto cream cardstock and used S4-194 Classic Inverted Scalloped Circles LG and S4-170 Pinking Circles LG to cut them out. For the bottom, I added a Gourmet Delights (from the 1-3/16″ Recipe set) along with hand-printed ingredients and instructions for use.

The bonbons in a paper could not have fit any better.

For the final touch, I wrapped the bonbons to look like candy.

All in all this was a very fun project. I do hope the teachers like them. Thanks again for dropping in and I hope you have a fabulous, creative day.

Eli

Recipe

  • 1-1/3 Cups Cocoa Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Almond Oil
  • 1 Tablespoon Grapeseed Oil
  • 1 Oz. Beeswax
  1. Place ingredients in saucepan and heat very low until melted and combined.
  2. Pour 1-1/2 Tablespoons into mini muffin tins.
  3. Place in freezer and remove when bonbons pull away from the sides.
  4. Turn pan over and pop out bonbons.
  5. Put into mini muffin cup papers and place into plastic containers.
  6. For use, warm the bonbon with fingers and smooth onto skin.

Feels great on your skin and smells like chocolate. Yummy!

One Response to “Chocolate Body Butter!”

  1. Sylvia January 12, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    Wow, I really liked this. I wish a World Market was close by, but I put it on my list of places to visit..Such a great gift idea and your sharing of products was great. Just started using the “Just Rite Stamps” they seem to fit everywhere. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

