The Greatest is Love

19 Jan

This may have just become my favorite sketch yet. Leave it to Kazan, over at 2 Sketches 4 You. She and Laura, along with their Design Team, are so inspiring. Here is Sketch 44 and here is my card!

I saw the sketch and wondered what I could use as my central image. I liked the idea of a big silk flower. I have a pack that are plain white and it occurred to me that I could airbrush over a Spellbinders Impressabilities™ template. Hooray. The best way to do this, I found, is to get a piece of scrap cardstock and place the flower on top of it. Place the Impressabilities™ template on top and Spellbinders™ Magnetic Spacer Plate underneath the cardstock. The magnet keeps the template flush to the cardstock so the airbrushing doesn’t sneak under the template. Check out the results. (I have a bonus image left behind after I removed the flower. I’ll have to see what I can make of that too.)

Next, I wanted a background that has some sparkle, so I gathered some pink paper, a background stamp, pigment ink and some Opaline embossing powder.

Here’s a little example of the shine that it gave the card (although it looks much better in person). I also applied the same ink and powder for the sentiment.

To create the center “glass” heart, I cut/embossed the heart from S3-XXX Decorative Photo Corners and sprayed it with Black Cherry Glimmer Mist. After the mist dried, I covered the surface with Watermark Ink and sprinkled a small amount of Irridescent UTEE. After heating it and allowing it to cool, I sanded off the top ridges, knocking down some of the pearl treatment. Again, I covered the surface with Watermark ink but this time, I sprinkled it with clear embossing powder and heated. I repeated several layers of the clear until I achieved the look I wanted. I will definitely use this technique again.

Besides that I cut a scalloped Heart, added a ribbon and put it all together. I have to say, I like it and it always surprises me when that happens…I haven’t been a card maker for long.

Important Stuff: Wizard™, I2-1009 Flourish Impressabilities™ Template, S3-107 Decorative Photo Corners, S4-137 Classic Scalloped Hearts (#3) , S4-201 Deckled Rectangles SM (#2) (Spellbinders™); R29 Red Lipstick Sketch Marker, Airbrush System (Copic); Scattered Flowers Design Block stamp (Hero Arts); ColorBox Dune pigment ink, Watermark ink (Clearsnap);  Opaline, Cosmic Opaque embossing powder (Sparkle N Sprinkle); Black Cherry Glimmer Mist (Tattered Angels); SCRAPBOOK ADHESIVE by 3L, 3D Foam Squares

Other Stuff: Love ribbon, White flower

Cheers and Happy Creating, Eli

7 Responses to “The Greatest is Love”

  1. Pam January 19, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Wow, thanks for sharing the techniques you used. First time I have seen the airbrush technique. When I first saw your card I thought the pink paper was patterned, very surprised to learn you did it youself! Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Fatimah January 19, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    WOW!!!! Amazing!! The card itself looks great at first sight but how you made it is just awsum!! Thanks 🙂

  3. shannavineyard January 19, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    Love your card! thanks for playing with us! ♥

  4. Hanne January 20, 2010 at 3:51 am #

    Such a sweet card!
    Hanne

  5. Kathy January 20, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Sweet Valentine! Love the embossing! Thank for joining us this week at 2S4Y! 🙂 Kathy

  6. Cheryl N January 20, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    gorgeous! love the techniques that you used to make this so special!

  7. Kazan Clark January 22, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    holy wow! love how you airbrushed the Impressability!! This has to be one of my fav cards of yours
    Hugs
    K

Leave a Reply

