“Enjoy” Birthday Duo (JRS 005)

17 Feb

I took the plunge and created a little duo for JustRite Stampers Friday Challenge 005: Birthday Bash!

Who doesn’t love a birthday party? Sometime, though, gathering all the little details makes me crazy.  Maybe I can help you by sharing just one inspirational project.

To create this little pair: a treat container and card, I first chose JustRite® Stampers “Enjoy” Center Stamp and a border from the Something Sweet 2-3/8″ set. I knew I wanted to make a little “sour cream container” treat package, so the “Enjoy” fit the theme perfectly.

I went looking for some patterned paper. I wanted something that gave me colors that I don’t normally work with . . . and I found it. I love the rusty red, olive green, slate blue and white:

Creating the container is pretty easy. I cut the brown cardstock to 6 x 6″ and one for the card at 5-1/2 x 6″. I cut two blocks of the paisley patterned paper to 4×6″. I glued the paisley onto the rust squares and allowed them to dry.

In the meantime, I stamped “Enjoy” onto blue polka dot paper several times. I used S4-114 Standard Circles, LG (#4, counting the smallest as #1) to cut out the sentiment. I placed the die template’s cut edge onto the stamped image and used artists’ low tac tape on the outer rim of the circle so it wouldn’t shift.

I ran it through the Wizard™ to cut. Then I used the S4-124 Scalloped Circles, LG (#3) and cut it from green patterned paper. I used dimensional adhesive to mount the sentiment onto the Scalloped Circle and VOíLA, an embellishment.

For the container, I used the Times New Roman font, 95 pt. from JustRite to spell HANNAH and stamped in onto the center of the paisley paper. I ran a line of adhesive down two consecutive sides. I rolled the tube so the paisley paper came together and pushed down that line adhesive to secure, being careful with the adhesive at the end.

The key to making this container is the ends. They should be closed at perpendicular angles. I began with the adhesive end, carefully pinched the center and pressed towards the outside, creasing the ends. Then folded the other end perpendicular to the first. I closed the second by punching  a hole and tying it with a bow. Now it can be re-used by the recipient.

For the card, I created a second “Enjoy” medallion. I stamped “A Sweet Birthday” using the 50 pt  font in Times New Roman. I stamped it onto the same blue polka dot paper and tore the top edge. I added the elements and a few embellishments to finish.

It was an easy project and it was made with a personal touch thanks to JustRite® Stampers. Hooray for JRS.

Important Stuff: Wizard™, S4-124 Classic Scalloped Circles LG, S4-114 Standard Circles LG (Spellbinders™); Times New Roman font set, Enjoy stamp, Something Sweet Border (JustRite® Stampers);  ColorMates Deep Desert Dune cardstock (WorldWin); Mogul Run/Ski Bunny patterned paper (Arctic Frog)

Other Stuff: Blue dot paper, Green paper, Green satin ribbon; PVA glue, Adhesive gems

2 Responses to ““Enjoy” Birthday Duo (JRS 005)”

  1. Liz February 18, 2010 at 5:08 am #

    Gorgeous birthday project Eli, just love how you personalised it and your use of the stamps is perfect, your worked those colours fantastically! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Keri Lee Sereika February 19, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    How fun Eli! I bet she LOOOOVED it!!!

Leave a Reply

