a gift for you card (CPS 173)

27 Jun

It’s nice to be home in the cool air of Colorado after experiencing the hot, hot days of Tucson, Arizona. Ahhhhh.

Today I worked on a card which was inspired by Card Positioning System blog challenge (CPS 173). Check out the sketch here. As always, the possibilities are endless. Here is my take on it.

I am really enjoying using Mint Motif Very Square Stamps by Kimberly Crawford. So for this project, I stamped four designs, one of them twice, to get five squares. Then I die cut five different shapes as seen here:

As often happens, while I’m designing, things change along the way. Instead of using the die cuts, which I had originally planned, I used the strip, popped up from the card. I chose a contrasting green paper to go with the red (for a “Complimentary” color scheme). I finished it quickly with the addition of a sticker sentiment and ribbon.

I was thinking birthday but now I realize it looks a bit like Christmas. Guess I will save it for December.

Important Stuff
Paper Mat Stack green patterned paper (Die Cuts with a View)
Stamps Mint Motif Very Square stamps (I {heart} Papers)
Ink Stampology Red (Autumn Leaves)
Tools Wizard, S4-092 Stars Five, S4-136 Classic Heart, S4-200 Flower Bouquet, S4-219 Nested Poinsettias, W-026 Grand Cut Mat Kit (Spellbinders™ Paper Arts)
Accessories Sentiment sticker (Wordsworth)

Other Stuff–White cardstock, red/white ribbon

One last look, a close up…

4 Responses to “a gift for you card (CPS 173)”

  1. Kay June 27, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Gorgeous !!!

  2. evelyn June 28, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    wow! nice card!

  3. Lea Lawson June 29, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    Fun card! Love the punching you did! Great job with CPS Sketch 173!!

    ♥♥♥Lea

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wish card (CPS 173) « Frillions by eli - June 29, 2010

    […] a card for the Card Positioning System using the negative space of several die cuts (you can see it here), I couldn’t resist using the die cuts to make a card using the same sketch. It is so fun. […]

Leave a Reply

