Journal: Butterfly Pair

5 Jul

I can’t help but love butterflies. There’s something so free and lovely about them. So, today, I put together a journal/scrapbook with a pair of butterflies on the front.

This started with the cover. I used a chipboard frame shape from Michaels which I covered with coordinating pink patterned papers. I used a recycled cereal box for the back cover. For the page, I bought a great stack of cardstock from Costco (love that, inexpensive deals). I cut them in half one way and then tore the pages to give me four 6×6″ pages per cardstock page. I used the colors to give me this:

In this picture, and the one below, you can also see the coil binding I used. I wanted to hide the coil with the journal’s cover so I attached the first page of the journal to the front cover and let the back cover fly free.

One last look at those butterflies I love. Hope you are seeing the real ones this summer.

Important Stuff
Paper Pink Patterned (Sonshine), Penny Lane Tiny Dancer “Chasse” (My Mind’s Eye), Turquoise cardstock (Core’dinations), White textured cardstock (Die Cuts with a View)
Die Cuts Butterfly (Prickley Pear Rubber Stamps), S4-197 Classic Inverted Scalloped Squares SM, S4-239 Classic Scalloped Borderabilities Petite (Spellbinders Paper Arts)
Tools Bind-it-All binding system, White coil, Wire cutters (Zutter), Scoring Tool (Score-It)
Embellishments Creatology Paper Shapes (Michael’s)
Adhesives 1/4″ Dimensional Sticky Strips (Therm O Web), Glue Dots (Glue Dots Intl.)

Other Stuff Pink and red cardstocks, organza ribbon, PVA Glue

Enjoy your day! Eli

Leave a Reply

