Date and Card Keeper

18 Oct

My roll-a-dex is full…

…says my best friend.

See, when I meet a new person, he or she goes in one side and an old friend or relation falls out the other. The more I learn about the new person, the more that falls out…it’s impossible to keep up. So what to do with all the people that really matter? And what to do with all their special celebrations?

Sometimes we need something remind us of special events in our lives. {I love my ten nieces and nephews but I can’t keep their birthdays straight.} I have created a few different kinds of “Celebration” reminders but my new favorite is the one I just created . Check it out and grab some supplies to create your own using the instructions provided.

I began by using my computer to create monthly calendars with days and blank lines to record special dates such as birthdays {which I mark with a “B”} or anniversaries (yep, they get an “A”}. You can download the celebrations calendar (as a pdf) for free.

Here are more images:

Instructions

  • After downloading the celebrations calendar and printing it out, trim each month.
  • Cut twelve 6×6″ squares of coordinating patterned paper and adhere them to the 9×6″ envelopes.
  • Cut twelve round tabs from patterned paper, or, as I did, punch out 12 shapes.
  • Put the envelopes in the order you want them to go {January, February, etc.}
  • Use stamps, rub-ons or stickers to label the tabs and adhere to each envelope, overlapping on the way down.
  • Create a front and back cover for the card keeper. Feel free to experiment with this and use fun shaped papers etc. {I added glitter glue to the front for some extra bling.}
  • Bind the keeper in whatever way you choose and add ribbons to keep it shut.
  • Add birthdays and anniversaries and other important dates.

Important Stuff
Paper Textured, scalloped paper (Die Cuts with a View), Patterned Papers (BasicGrey, Me & My BIG Ideas)
Tools Owires, Bind-It-All (Zutter)
Embellishments AtYou Spica Chocolate glitter pen (Copic), Glitter glue (Hobby Lobby)

Other Stuff 9×6″ envelopes, PVA Glue, Month rub-ons, Ribbons

Leave a Reply

