Middle Schooler’s Notebook

3 Sep

Houston…we have a middle schooler.

And the feeling is overwhelming. Since my sweet girl won’t have a desk where she can keep something fun from mom, I made a notebook that she can carry along in her backpack or keep in her locker. Maybe she’ll use it to record her homework or just to put down her own thoughts.

I used my Cricut to cut the letters and shadows. Then cut the following:

  • 9 squares for the background blocks: 1½x 1¾”
  • a mat for the grid: 5½x5½”
  • front and back covers for the notebook: 6×6¾”
  • pages: 5½x6½” (in order to get two pages out of each 8½x11″ sheet of paper)

I like using recycled cereal boxes and other food packaging “chipboard.” For the inside cover, I used a Cookie Crisp box panel for the front (along with the school mascot “Go Bulldogs!”)

and Golden Grahams for the back cover.

Then I created a Cricut character (sort of a Bulldog) to add to the first page.

Isn’t he cute?!!

I bound it with the Zutter. If you want to know how to do that, check out this post here.

Finally, I added some fun dangles to the binding.

I hope you enjoy and remember to visit my other blog: At Home in Palm Beach.

Important Stuff
Tools: Cricut cartridges: Robotz, Doodletype (Provo Craft); Blue Fibers (EK Success); Guillotine trimmer (Tonic); Bind-it-All (Zutter)
Papers: blue, red cardstocks (Core’dinations); Blue distressed (My Mind’s Eye)
Embellishments: Citrus Buttons (Hot off the Press)

Other Stuff: Variety of papers, PVA glue, binding wire,

One Response to “Middle Schooler’s Notebook”

  1. Tori September 3, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    really cool idea Eli. I hope Hannah has a good first week. I think my sister in law’s daughter is around her age her name is Kay Baker. She goes to the school too. I bet the school would put your books in their book store!
    I will be thinking of you guys this week –
    🙂

Leave a Reply

