Birthday Reminder Book Tutorial and Download

17 Feb

I am always forgetting birthdays. I can’t say I’m proud of that fact but there it is. So, I decided to make a purse-sized birthday book to store my friends special days to help me remember them.

I love tucking it in my purse, along with a few of my hand-made cards, so when I’m waiting in the carpool line at school, or for an appointment, I can jot a note to a friend AND send it on time. It’s a perfect way to spend some otherwise wasted time.

Want to make your own? Here you go:

  • For added impact, use a marker to outline the die cut image and the base die cut.
  • Using dimensional adhesive, layer the “spotlight” over the original.
  • Download the black and white birthday calendar here or the colored birthday calendar here. Print the months onto two 8-1/2×11 sheets of paper. {I actually printed the whole document twice onto four colors of paper so I could mix them up in the book. See colors below in the supply list.}
  • Trim month blocks to 4″ wide and 3-1/8″ tall and round the corners with a punch.
  • Using Neenah Classic Crest 80# Cover in Natural White, die cut 8 book pages with S5-019 Labels Eight (#6). Die cut two pieces of recycled “cereal” board from the same die to make front and back covers.
  • Adhere two die-cut pages to either side of the covers to reinforce them.
  • Embellish the pages with patterned paper blocks as seen below. Then add the month blocks.
  • Bind the book with Bind-it-All and 1/2″ wires by Zutter. (See a tutorial how use the Bind-it-All HERE)
  • Add ribbons and a charm to finish it off.

Important Stuff
Papers Pop-Tone 65# Papers in Banana Split, Berrylicious, Cotton Candy, Limeade, Classic Crest 80# Natural White (CutCardStock.com), Patterned (K&Co)
Tools S5-019 Labels Eight, S4-116 Standard Circles SM, Wizard (SpellbindersPaperArts.com),  Bind-it-All, 1/2″ Black Wires (Zutter)
Embellishments Ribbons (Creative Impressions, Darice), Stamp (etsy.com), Jet Black Archival ink (Ranger), Chic Charm (K&Co.)
Adhesives PVA Glue (LineCo), Pop Glue Dots (Glue Dots Intl.)

Other Stuff Corner Rounder Punch

Like what you see? Subscribe to my blog! Click on the “E-mail Subscription” line at the top right and add your e-mail address…you’ll get a note in your inbox each time I make a new post.

9 Responses to “Birthday Reminder Book Tutorial and Download”

  1. stampinpam February 17, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    What a great little project – I have a BD calendar to help me remember special days – I like your book idea though. Thanks for playing along with JUGS this week. We appreciate your participation. Have a great week – hope to see you again Saturday.

  2. Andrea M February 17, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    Holy moly this is amazing!!! Great book! Thanks for the lovely tutorial too! What a wonderful take on the technique challenge! Thanks so much for playing along with Just Us Girls!!

  3. Denise Bruce of Ingleside, PEI February 28, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    This is beautiful… love it! Esp for my 16 year old daughter 🙂
    thank you!

  4. Francine February 28, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Hi, just dropping by to let you know that I featured this tutorial on Craft Gossip today. You can see the post here http://scrapbooking.craftgossip.com/tutorial-birthday-reminder/2011/02/28/

    • frillions February 28, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      Thanks so much for including me… 🙂

  5. AshaLatha R K Prasad February 28, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    This is such an awesome IDEA… Thanks for sharing this fun…. I would love to try this so that I can be in par with the days I ought to celebrate…… Hugs))))

    Ash…..
    (http://hastkala-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  6. Jenny March 26, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Love this! I featured you on my blog: http://aworldofcrafts.blogspot.com/2011/03/birthday-reminder-book.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bind-It-All Tutorial « Frillions by eli - February 18, 2011

    […] I’ll share how I bound the birthday reminder book that I posted HERE. Here is a picture of the final project that I created using CutCardStock.com’s […]

  2. Tutorial: Birthday Reminder Book · Scrapbooking | CraftGossip.com - February 28, 2011

    […] use as a reminder for birth dates. Instructions include the stamping technique used on the cover. Click here to go to the tutorial. You may also […]

Leave a comment