Welcome Friends (Color Throwdown 100)

9 Jul

Although the Color Throwdown challenge blog is celebrating their 100th challenge. CONGRATS!!! It’s a first for me. I often visit but just never set my mind to it. Today was the beginning of something new, I loved it. Here is the challenge:

I gathered cardstocks and this is what I chose. (The lower right corner shows the pages for the guest book.)

I created a guest book for friends who are newly married and have a cute little apartment. I thought it would be fun for their marriage as they adventure through life.

This was fun to put together. I began cutting: rose background squares, red scalloped oval, celery oval, blue border…

To create the blue border, I first cut/embossed the s4-244 Fair Isle Borderabilities® Petite. Then I airbrushed through the stencil holes.

to get this…

I cut the border into four pieces… in half vertically and horizontally. I made two identical borders to go all the way around the 6×6″ square cover.

I used a long rectangular stamper from JustRite™ to stamp “WELCOME” in the celery oval. Then I stamped the friends stamp with a border onto the blue cardstock and cut/embossed it with the S4-194 Classic Inverted Scalloped Circles LG. I gave the ink a bit of sparkle with a blue glitter pen.

I adhered all the pieces, punched the coil holes, added the coil binding and finished it with ribbons. Voila! Gift is ready.

Important Stuff
Papers Pink metallic (WorldWin), Blue and Red (Core’dinations), dot paper Feelin Groovy “Blue Sky” Forget Me Not (My Mind’s Eye)
Stamps Curls letter stamps, Friends circle stamp, Stitched with Love border, Horizontal Stamper, Circle Stamper (JustRite® Stampers)
Inks/Colorants Memories Bluebird Pigment ink (Superior); Memento Rhubarb Stalk dye ink (Tsukineko); Atyou Spica Sky Blue, Clear glitter pens, R29 Lipstick Red Sketch Marker, Airbrush System (Copic)
Tools/Trimmers Bind-it-All binding system, Silver coil binding, Wire cutters (Zutter); S4-194 Classic Inverted Scalloped Circles LG, S4-139 Petite Scalloped Ovals LG, s4-244 Fair Isle Borderabilities® Petite

Other Stuff Ribbons, celery cardstock, PVA glue, dimensional adhesive

4 Responses to “Welcome Friends (Color Throwdown 100)”

  1. Carol L July 10, 2010 at 4:58 am #

    What a thoughtful gift you’ve created for your friends! I love how you created the border and I’m so glad you finally jumped in and played along with the CTD in their big celebration! Hope to see you back again soon!

  2. debhorst July 10, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    what a great project for this challenge…love the misc. tied ribbons!! Thanks for playing along with this 100th Color Throwdown challenge!! Make sure to leave some love along the way and increase you changes to win!!!

  3. Wanda Cullen July 10, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    So glad you joined in for this challenge! What a super project/gift!

  4. Broni July 11, 2010 at 5:08 am #

    What a great little book! I’m so glad you finally decided to play along with us! Thanks so much for helping us celebrate our 100th Color Throwdown challenge!

Leave a comment